Shit inevitably happens in life.  Many times during the most inopportune times.  But then again, is there really a convenient time for it to happen?  Timing is something that is perilously out of your control.  Time and I have had a tumultuous relationship.  When I beg for it to speed up, the slower it seems to pass.  And when all I want is a few minutes more, a moment to last just a bit longer, time will creep up with such intent, such haste.  But then I have to ask myself, if I did have control over time, what would I do it with it?  Would I reverse the clocks and fix my mistakes?  Would I slow down my times of happiness so they’d hang with me that much longer?  Would I speed up through the regrets and sorrows?  Would I put my favorite moments on replay like a song I can’t get out of my head?

If I did, what kind of person would that make me?

If I did have control over time I’d set it free.  Because the downs in life are meant to feel slow, and the ups are destined to seem quick and fleeting.  Otherwise, how easily you’d forget what unhappiness feels like and how much you’d take happiness for granted.

“Life is a storm, you will bask in the sunlight one moment, be shattered on the rocks the next. What makes you a man is what you do when that storm comes.” – Alexandre Dumas

The storm arrived.  But I’m not going to buckle, take self-pity, or wish I could turn back the clocks.  No.  I’m going to reflect, I’m going to grow, and I’m going to seek release.

What better way than to travel around Europe for 4 weeks with friends?  Lisbon, Madrid, Barcelona, Sardinia, Marseilles, Switzerland, Greece… here I come.

J

